History of Junior Pennant League

History of Aberdeen and District Junior Pennant league.

  The league was formed in 1968 at a meeting held at Nigg Bay GC on Tuesday 19th. March.

Golf Clubs represented were Bon Accord, Caledonian, Hazlehead, Nigg Bay, Stonehaven and Victoria.

Northern joined the League later in 1968

It was agreed to call the association the  'Junior Section Inter Club Competition'  later changed to   ' Aberdeen and District Junior Pennant League'

Victoria GC did not play in league

The first secretary was Bill Christie of Nigg Bay GC  from 1968  to  1979.

then   Bill Adams of Caledonian GC  1979  to  1987.

          Richard Smith of Royal Aberdeen GC  1987  to  1992.

          Gordon T.Murray of Hazlehead GC  1992  to date.




Junior Pennant League   

The first winners were Bon-Accord Golf Club in 1968                                                  

Spence Trophy                                                                                             

For Junior Club Champions. The first winner was Donald Jamieson of Nigg Bay GC in 1970 who later won the Scottish Amateur Championship at Balgownie in 1980.

Off the Tee Trophy

Originally presented to the winners of the league, 1977 - 1979,  Trophy donated by the 'Green Final' (A Saturday evening sport newspaper coloured green, now discontinued). The first winners were Murcar Links GC in 1977.  From 1980 to 1992 played as a two round aggregate scratch medal play, with three players per club.

Hector Dey Trophy                  

Handicap medal play for one qualifier per club. Donated by Hector Dey a Member of Deeside GC.First winner David Cruickshank of Bon-Accord GC in 1984

Home Nations(Inter Club Competition)                                                                        

For winners and runner up of the League and  winners of Off the Tee trophy

For historical records click on underlined text


League Clubs

Bon Accord 1968 Resigned 2006
Caledonian               1968 Resigned 2015 from League 
Hazlehead 1968 Played 1968 / did not play 1969/70  resumed 1971
Nigg Bay 1968 Resigned 2010 from League
Stonehaven 1968 Played 1968/69/70.Then withdrew and Resumed 1987  
Northern 1968 Resigned 2006
Murcar Links 1970  
Deeside 1971  
McDonald (Ellon) 1972  
Banchory 1975  
Cruden Bay 1979  
Inverurie 1980        Resigned 2017
Westhill 1982  Resigned 2010   Re-joined  2019
Newmachar 1991 Resigned 2013   Re-joined  2018
Auchmill 1991 Resigned 2006 
Kintore 1996 Resigned 2012
Kemnay 2000  Resigned 2021 from league.   playing in events
Oldmeldrum 2000  Resigned 2015 
Craibstone 2002 Resigned 2009 
Inchmarlo 2003  Resigned 2006
Alford 2004 Resigned 2006.  
Peterhead 2006  Resigned 2015
Newburgh 2007 Resigned 2009
Inverallochy 2010   Resigned 2016